District Information

The cooperative is divided into the following nine districts with one member (director) serving per district on the nine-person board.  

District 1:  Townships of Aurora, Ford, Gilman, Pershing, Roosevelt, and Taft in Taylor County; and Colburn, Holcombe, and Ruby in Chippewa County.

District 2: Townships of Cleveland, Grover, Jump River, and Westboro in Taylor County; Hawkins, Lawrence, and Richland in Rusk County; and Kennan in Price County.

District 3: Townships of Grow, Marshall, and Willard in Rusk County; and McKinley in Taylor County.

District 4: Townships of Big Falls, Cedar Rapids, Dewey, Flambeau, Hubbard, South Fork, and True in Rusk County; Georgetown in Price County; and Winter in Sawyer County.

District 5: Townships of Atlanta, Big Bend, Grant, Murry, Stubbs, Thornapple, Washington, Wilkinson, and Wilson in Rusk County; and Doyle in Barron County.

District 6: Townships of Lenroot and Spider Lake in Sawyer County.

District 7: Townships of Couderay, Part of Hayward, Hunter, Ojibwa, and Radisson in Sawyer County.

District 8: Townships of Bass Lake and Part of Hayward in Sawyer County.

District 9: Township of Round Lake in Sawyer County.

Please see the above list of districts or see the district map on this page to determine which district you reside in.  If you have any questions, please contact our office at 715-532-5524.


Your cooperative is a democratic, member-controlled business and is governed by local people, living in your neighborhood, looking out for each other.  The directors are elected at the annual meeting, by you!  This means you have the power to make a difference as a member and as a director.  

Jump River Electric Cooperative (JREC) comprises of nine districts, each represented on the board by a director.  Each year three seats are elected; however, each director represents all members of JREC.  Members residing in the districts 3, 4, and 9 (see map below) and who meet the director qualifications outlined under Article IV, Section 3 of the JREC bylaws are eligible to become a director.  

If you are interested in becoming a director, you will need to have fifteen (15) or more members sign a Petition for Director Nomination (see below) form and return it to one of our offices by February 28, 2023. Cooperative personnel will validate the signatures and districts.  

District 3 Petition, District 4 Petition, District 9 Petition, and District Map

Voting for directors candidates can be done by casting a absentee, electronic, or meeting-day ballot (provided at the Annual Meeting, held April 29, 2023). 


JREC's Board of Directors typically meet at the Ladysmith headquarters on the last Tuesday of each month at 9 a.m.  Directors also attend occasional regional and national meetings as well as educational seminars. 

What does a director do?  Directors are responsible for providing strategic direction and guidance to management; approving general policies, annual budgets, special contracts, capital credit allocations and retirements, rate schedules, and delegating authority to the General Manager/CEO to execute an carry out the daily activities of the cooperative.  You can read more on the director expectations by clicking on the button below.

Director Expectations