## Jump River Electric Cooperative, Inc.

## Wisconsin 57 Rusk

## 86<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Membership April 27, 2024

The 86th Annual Meeting of the Jump River Electric Cooperative, Inc. (hereinafter referred to as the "Cooperative") was held at the Cooperative's headquarters office located in the Town of Flambeau, Rusk County, Wisconsin, and at the Hayward branch office located in the Town of Hayward, Sawyer County, Wisconsin; on Saturday, April 27, 2024. The two locations were connected via livestream. Registration began at 9:30 a.m.

Acting Chairman Bill van Doorn called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m. and welcomed cooperative members to the 86th Annual Meeting. van Doorn asked those who have served or are currently serving in the military to stand to be recognized. van Doorn then asked that all attendees stand for the Pledge of Allegiance and National Anthem.

Acting Chairman van Doorn informed those in attendance of three recent losses to co-op board and employee families. van Doorn reviewed the voting rules, explaining that returned absentee ballots could only be counted if they were returned by April 26 at 4 p.m. and that the only ballots that would be collected would be the ones turned in during registration prior to the opening of the meeting.

Acting Chairman van Doorn announced Attorney Niles Berman would act as Parliamentarian of the meeting.

Secretary-Treasurer Joe Lorence reported there were 91 members registered and declared there was a sufficient number to constitute an in-person quorum.

Attorney Berman reviewed the affidavit of mailing received from the Wisconsin Electric Cooperative Association confirming that the official notice of meeting and the director election ballots were published in the *Wisconsin Energy Cooperative News* (WECN) and mailed to 8,716 members on March 28, 2024. Waiving the reading of the affidavit of mailing was approved by unanimous consent. Berman stated that the rules of the meeting were also published in the WECN and given to members at registration.

The 2023 Annual Meeting Minutes were included in the April issue of the WECN and were approved as distributed by unanimous consent.

Attorney Berman introduced the current directors, being District 1, Jane Reich; District 3, Joe Lorence; District 4, Jay Waeltz; District 5, Bill van Doorn; District 6, Bill Amery; District 7, Jason Weaver; District 8, Walter Kruk; and District 9, Sandy Schara; with District 2 being vacant.

Attorney Berman introduced and thanked the election inspectors who were Darrell Doughty, Jerry Geisler, and Gene Ludvigsen in Ladysmith; and Richard Gilbertson and Kathy Overman in the Hayward branch office.

Attorney Berman introduced the current director candidates being District 1 – Incumbent, Jane Reich, Sheldon and challenger, Nancy Lato, Gilman; District 5 – Bill van Doorn, Ladysmith; and District 6 – Bill Amery, Hayward. Candidates Lato, van Doorn, and Amery addressed the membership.

Attorney Berman introduced the Chairman of the Election Inspectors, Gene Ludvigsen, who then provided the board election results, being as follows:

- District 1, Jane Reich incumbent, received 267 votes; Nancy Lato received 172 votes; with Reich being re-elected.
- District 5, William (Bill) van Doorn ran unopposed and received 408 votes and was reelected.
- District 6, William (Bill) Amery ran unopposed, received 409 votes and was re-elected.

Acting Chairman van Doorn reported on capital credits, scholarships, and the Community Cents program.

JREC Annual Meeting Minutes April 27, 2024 Page Two

Dairyland Power Cooperative's (DPC) Vice President of Generation, Jeremy Browing spoke on DPC's sustainability, reliability, and diversification. Browning also addressed the energy market, renewable generation, carbon rate reduction, Government oversight, environmental and congestion challenges, as well as the advanced nuclear and small modular reactor technology.

General Manager/CEO Kurt Harris introduced guests and thanked the members in attendance for their participation in the cooperative, acknowledged Myron Brooks' recent passing and his service to the cooperative, and read the auditor report as provided by CliftonLarsonAllen, LLP. Harris reported on long-term financial stability, impact of inflation, reduced expenses, system improvements, member and community collaboration, Hannibal solar project, safety, reliability, and reduced outage minutes in 2023.

Harris honored employees for their years of service without a lost-time accident and recognized employees recently hired and apprentice graduations. Harris also thanked attorney Niles for his years of service to the co-op and presented him with a retirement gift.

Harris answered a submitted question on the fixed cost of delivery fee and other questions from the crowd on Charter, future demand charges, and solar power.

Acting Chairman van Doorn called for unfinished business and there was none.

Acting Chairman van Doorn called for new business and there was none.

The grand prize winner of a \$500 energy credit was Lloyd Lee, with \$100 energy credit winners being: John Goodman, Anthony Zimmer, William Pfalzgraf, Timothy Smith, and Arnold Horstman.

Being there was no further business to come before the meeting, Acting Chairman van Doorn adjourned the meeting at 11:40 a.m.

Joe Lorence, Secretary – Treasurer	ſ

(CORPORATE SEAL)